If….

I have heard that “if” is said that the biggest, hardest and most confusing word in the English language. An old Southern idiom says “if the dog hadn’t stopped to do his business, he would have caught the rabbit.” And how many times have you later thought about a conversation or interaction and thought “if I had only…….”. It is a huge word in the sports world, especially pre-game and certainly post-game analysis..

Our music is full of “if”s. “If I Didn’t Care” was originally recorded by the Ink Spots. It has been covered by many after that. “If You Got the Money Honey, I Got the Time” by Lefty Frizzel Then there was “If I Were A Carpenter”. Randy Travis did “If I Didn’t Have You”. Then here was a song buy a young duo that soared to to top of the charts that was simple called “If” by Bread. That little word challenges us, negotiates with us, questions us, sets boundaries for us and places requirements in front of us.

When you listen to people talk, you will most often hear the word “if” used in a variety of ways. There are 27 books in the New Testament. “If” is used 574 times. Almost half that number is in the four Gospels. Jesus used this word often, usually making a point but also, teaching how to be a Christian, e.g. “If you love Me, keep My commandments.” John 14:15.

A lot of folks prior to elections bring out their Bible verses in an attempt to convince God to put the best we ever had in whatever office. Far too often, they really want God to do all the work and their job is to pray. God does determine who sits on the thrones of the nations and good, bad or ugly, they all are working God’s plan.

A favorite of folks is 2 Chronicles 7:14 “if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”

The loose translation into modern thinking is “Oh, God, we are in such trouble. We need things fixed. I will pray and continue to pray so you will heal our land so we can prosper again….”

They miss or forget several key elements. First, the word “if” is a word of contingency in this instance. It plainly states there are things to be done by the party of the first part before the party of the second part even hears the party of the first part. In this instance, God is speaking to Israel. The born again believers as part of God’s people is another discussion but rest assured they are.


The nation of Israel and later the Kingdom of Israel and Judah were God’s chosen covenant people. Being people, they had a difficult time not being wooed by the world. They went from Godliness to peace to prosperity to apostasy to godlessness, to destruction to captivity, to recognition, to repentance, to restoration. Israel had been doing this cycle for centuries. They jumped on sin like a large mouthed bass on a shinny lure. They would always find their way back. Here, God is giving them the secret sauce to redemption from their enemies. Let’s analyze this verse.

if My people
God is speaking directly to the Jews and to you and I. The people who love God should be listening.

who are called by My name
We are identified by and associated with Yahweh, Alighty God by our lives and our relationship.

will humble themselves,
Humility is sorely lacking in America today. Can you humble yourself to the level of a bond servant?. Can you freely relinquish your will? That is what Lord means to us.

and pray and
Jesus taught us to pray. Matt 6:5-15 (see note below). This is not a prayer to be recited day after day but rather a framework to use as a guide. More about this another time.


seek My face,
How many of us could look into the face of God? When I was a young lad, no, this is not ancient history, I was summoned to the Principal’s office. I couldn’t think of anything bad I had done, but I was a boy. Al Roberts was the Principal. He was tall, nice looking and dressed like a Fortune 500 CEO. He was imposing to say the least. When I had to go into his office, I couldn’t look him in the face, but I knew his presence. That is what this phrase means. We can’t see God’s face but we can know his presence. This Hebrew word can be translated face or presence.

and turn from their wicked ways,
Talk about a challenge. We are all sinners in need of a Savior. Even if we have been saved by the blood of Jesus Christ, we are still human. Sin is still possible in our lives and we must war against it every moment. The more one sins, the easier it becomes, drawing us away from God. God is asking is to REPENT. Change our lives and align with Him. Put down the false idols of basketball, football, racing, television, secular living and seek His kingdom and His presence.


Luke 12:32. King James Version
Fear not, little flock; for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.

then I will hear from heaven,
Once we have correctly and completely done all the former things, then, and only then will God listen to our pleas. Only then are we in the place we need to be with God.

and will forgive their sin and
Then the promises kick in. You can’t come to God as arrogantly as most try to do. You don’t get to do it your way, you must do it God’s way. It is God’s way or the broad highway.

heal their land.
Want your land healed? Get your sins forgiven and live for God, not yourself. Huge difference.

The context of this verse is really telling and enlightening. It is provided below. “If” places responsibility. It describes the difference in a relationship and a religion. Religion says I will do these things if God will do those things. A relationship says If I do these things, God will do those things. It becomes a promise when God is the one speaking. God is speaking now.
May God bless the reading of this article.
Maranatha!!!

Don’t forget to comment and follow. More coming soon.

2 Chron 7:12 Then the LORD appeared to Solomon by night,and said to him: “I have heard your prayer, and have chosen this place for Myself as a house of sacrifice.
13 “When I shut up heaven and there is no rain, or command the locusts to devour the land, or send pestilence among My people,
14 “if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.
15 “Now My eyes will be open and My ears attentive to prayer made in this place.
16 “For now I have chosen and sanctified this house, that My name may be there forever; and My eyes and My heart will be there perpetually.
2 Chron 7:17 As for you, if you walk before Me as your father David walked, and do according to all that I have commanded you, and if you keep My statutes and My judgments,
18 “then I will establish the throne of your kingdom, as I covenanted with David your father, saying, ‘You shall not fail to have a man as ruler in Israel.’
19 ¶ “But if you turn away and forsake My statutes and My commandments which I have set before you, and go and serve other gods, and worship them,
20 “then I will uproot them from My land which I have given them; and this house which I have sanctified for My name I will cast out of My sight, and will make it a proverb and a byword among all peoples.
21 ¶ “And as for this house, which is exalted, everyone who passes by it will be astonished and say, ‘Why has the LORD done thus to this land and this house?’
22 “Then they will answer, ‘Because they forsook the LORD God of their fathers, who brought them out of the land of Egypt, and embraced other gods, and worshiped them and served them; therefore He has brought all this calamity on them.’ ”

 

Matthew 6:5-15. New King James Version
The Model Prayer
5 “And when you pray, you shall not be like the [a]hypocrites. For they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the corners of the streets, that they may be seen by men. Assuredly, I say to you, they have their reward. 6 But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you [b]openly. 7 And when you pray, do not use vain repetitions as the heathen do. For they think that they will be heard for their many words.

8 “Therefore do not be like them. For your Father knows the things you have need of before you ask Him. 9 In this manner, therefore, pray:

Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
10 Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
11 Give us this day our daily bread.
12 And forgive us our debts,
As we forgive our debtors.
13 And do not lead us into temptation,
But deliver us from the evil one.
[c]For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen.
14 “For if you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.

 

,

Leave a comment