Old Lucky!

Old Lucky

I once heard of a fellow that had a dog. He had lost one eye in a fight with a Bobcat, lost the opposite ear tangling with a German Shepard, lost one hind leg in an altercation with an automobile that was still moving and was diagnosed with 3 major ailments. His name was Lucky. Certainly not a very descriptive name, or is it. He was still alive.

When I was a youngster, I used to like to wear the number 13 as I had calmed it as my lucky number. Most folks think of that number as unlucky and dark and demonic. Others see it SS spitting in the eye of Satan, the dark world. Evil. To the good guy, 13 becomes a lucky number. Then I grew up and realized there was not much to all that number stuff. The luck wasn’t in the number. It lay elsewhere.

As most of you know, I have been undergoing radiation treatment following cancer surgery. It certainly has been real ordeal to this point. Today, June 9, 2022, I had my 20th treatment. There are now 13 more to go. Old lucky 13 rears its head once again. But then only 7 treatments ago, it was my 13th treatment. I suppose that was the lucky one.

Actually, we found out on the first attempt, it was going to take a superhuman effort to get through this. The doctor put me on some more medications, some to get rid of water in my system, some to put me beyond relaxed. After a few days, we tried again and we have been gong ever since. What doesn’t figure into all this logic is the fact that Jesus is carrying the large end of this log. Without Him, I couldn’t make it.

They put me in a mask that is pinned down to the table to hole me in a perfectly still position while the treatment is being administered The enter of he treatment is at the bridge of my nose between my eyes. I have to lay in this draconian contraption for 20 minutes. My nature won’t let me lay there more than 20 seconds. The claustrophobic reflex is extremely high and my anxiety goes through the roof. The nurses do a good job of trying to sooth my nerves but to little effect. But, there is one thing that takes care of that and that is thinking of Jesus. Looking into His eyes and Him looking back at me. I start praying and things start settling down. I am able to make it all the way through the treatment without incident, but only when Jesus is carrying the heavy end.

As I go through this ordeal, I am reminded of several verses It is amazing how many verses can run through your mind in a mere 20 minutes. One of the first passages I am reminded of is Psalms 23. This is the most comforting and promising passage in the entire Bible. Then in Hebrews 13:5, we are told “Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

And one of my favorite passages is in Luke 12:3 “Do not fear, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.” and to go with that, 1 Cor. 10:13 No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to [a]bear it.”

Jesus is there with you, no matter your situation. There are many other verses that run through my mind but the comport of knowing I am His and He is mine. That He is always looking out for me. That he has only my best interest at heart and that best interest is serving Him either living or in dying. Either way, I win.

No, there is nothing special about the number 13 except it fits perfectly in between 12 and 14. It is neither lucky or unlucky except as your superstition will allow such stuff in your mind. Even the Black Cat thingy is a way of controlling you. Watch out for that old man Satan who seeks to destroy you any way he can. 1 Pet 5:8 Be [c]sober, be [d]vigilant; [e]because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. 9 Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world. 10 But [f]may the God of all grace, who called [g]us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, [h]perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you. 11 To Him be the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen.”

Jesus is our constant companion. Yes, He is there all the time. Even when you are doing things you wouldn’t like for Him to see you doing, He is there. Holy living is not doing good works on your own. Holiness is living a life directed by Jesus. When we go off on our own, that is when we disappoint Him, sin against Him. That is when we ought to be on our spiritual knees praying with repentance asking forgiveness. I pray that I can do that more and more each day.

God has been good to me. I am highly blessed. The only way to continue to be blessed is to walk in His pathways, to be completely transformed by the compete rejuvenation of our thinking to more align with Him.

Romans 12:12 I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. 2 And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

God bless the reading of this article.

Maranatha!!

Leave a comment