Who do you Trust?

When you and I were young, we were very impressionable. I remember when I was a young boy, there were people who I liked immediately and others whom I disliked immediately. Often, that first inclination to like or dislike was later reversed for one reason or another.

I can remember having a friend as a young boy that it was very easy to do the things he wanted to do. I trusted him, I liked him and thus if he wanted to do something, it was just fine with me. There are people who we follow after because we believe in them and there are others that we follow because of their authority over us. Our parents, someone left to ‘watch’ us, someone we were left with for the day had authority over us and we did what they said because of that authority. Others we freely gave our allegiance to and gladly went after them.

Matthew 4:19 King James Version (KJV)

19 And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.

Luke 9:23 King James Version (KJV)

23 And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.

The phrase “Follow Me” appears 25 times in Scripture.

When Jesus said to Andrew and Simon, ‘Follow Me.. “ He was asking them to leave their former lives, turn their backs on everything they had been and had ever done and to come be His disciples.

Now, Andrew and Simon had a history with Jesus. John the Baptist had pointed out Jesus to them and identified Him as the Lamb of God that takes away the sin of the world. Andrew and Simon saw Jesus as the Messiah. Now this same Messiah is coming to them and saying to them, “Come, Follow Me….”

Following people or prey can take on several characteristics. One, you can actually follow their footsteps. Do you remember following your Dad and trying to step exactly where he stepped? As a young boy, that was quite a chore. You had to concentrate on getting your foot exactly where his foot was and the step length was almost too long for you to actually do. As you got older, and bigger, you didn’t have to concentrate on where the foot went as much as this was easier, but you could actually mimic many of your Dad’s mannerisms.

A few years ago, I had a person, former Governor, who was actually one of my Dad’s cousins see me at a huge event. He hadn’t seen me in a very long time and my Dad had passed away, but when he saw me, he actually called me by my Dad’s first name. He immediately corrected himself, but my mannerisms, even my looks had mimiced my Dad’s so much that he actually thought of him when he saw me.

When Jesus asked Andrew and Simon to ‘Follow Me..’, He was saying to them, ‘Come and be like me. Walk like I walk. Talk like I talk. Do what I do. Put me on you.’ I had a friend accidentally explain this the best I have ever heard. When asked how are you, I always proclaim “I am blessed” and I have noticed more people are getting more positive about their confession as to how they are doing. But my friend, Rick, said it this way.. and I love it.. may actually start using it myself.. he said ‘God is all over me….’ and that is how we as true followers ought to be.

Just as my Dad was all over me in later years, so should God be all over us. If we are followers, we should be called by His Name because of the way we walk, the way we mimic Him. This we should allow to happen freely and completely. This is what Jesus was asking of Simon and Andrew, ‘Come, Follow Me…’, put Jesus all over you. Become as He is.

May God bless the reading of this writing.

May we all learn how to be more like Christ and walk through this world in such a manner that others would call us by His name.

Leave a Reply

