What is Love (pt 1)

This is a multi part series on the word Love. I hope you enjoy and share it.

Love has a prominent place in the Scriptures and is found in almost every book of the Bible as a fundamental part of a person’s relationship with God and with others. It is used to define how a person feels about God and other people.

Love is one of those words that has been hijacked and used in today’s society it some very wrong ways. When in college, I had to read a book by Martin Buber, ‘I and Thou’. Buber was a Jewish philosopher and he attempted to explain the interaction of man and other humans and things. He used the three personages of the pronoun ‘I’ to describe this relationship. It was one of the most difficult books I ever tried to read but the concept was captivating. He described the relationship as it should be between I and Thou and I and It.

In society today, we use the term love to describe things, places, actions. As we find the original definitions of love, we will find this is really not the intended behavior of someone to love a place or a thing. That is what Buber was saying. The relatonship between I and Thou and I and It often get swapped. The problem becomes when I start treating Thou like an It and It like a Thou. This is a perversion of the meaning of the word love.

When we treat others as objects and we start treating objects as more important than people, we have a real problem.

Jesus taught on this in Matthew 7:12 Amplified Bible, Classic Edition

12 So then, whatever you desire that others would do to and for you, even so do also to and for them, for this is (sums up) the Law and the Prophets.

Now the word love is not mentioned here, but the relationship between I and Thou is definitely defined. And this is a form of Love. When we replace this form of love with the love of things (I love my car, I love Ice Cream, I love dancing are examples) we are bordering on a form of Hedonism as we talked about in the previous post. We are to love others as our brothers and sisters as that is what they truly are.

May God teach us love others as we would have others love us. May we treat others as our closest friends or a true brother or sister. May this be evident and shine forth that others might see the love we have for each other.

Jesus gave this commandment to all believers:

John 13: 34 “A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.” 35 “By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.”

May God bless the reading of this teaching. Amen!

If you need to know Christ or share Christ with others, here is a link to find out how.

Roman Road to Salvation

Leave a Reply

